Men's Lacrosse

Home of 23 USILA All-Americans & 4 NCAA Tournament Appearances

Matt Symes Drafted by Calgary Roughnecks in NLL Draft

Matt Symes Drafted by Calgary Roughnecks in NLL Draft

2016 National Lacrosse League Draft

OAKVILLE, ON – Former Whittier College Men's Lacrosse Midfielder Matt Symes (Coquitlam, BC, Canada) was drafted Monday evening by the Calgary Roughnecks Lacrosse Club in the 2016 National Lacrosse League (NLL) draft.

The draft was held in the Toronto Rock Athletic Centre (TRAC) in Oakville, Ontario.

Symes was the 21st overall pick in the draft and the third selection by the Roughnecks in the second round of the draft, while being one of eight players overall drafted by the Club.

In his four years at Whittier, Symes played in 61 games and totaled 74 goals and 13 assists.  He also collected 24 groundballs and took 164 shots with 119 of them being on goal for a 73% shot on goal percentage.

He led the Purple & Gold in goals scored this past season with 30 and led them to an appearance in the 2016 NCAA Division III National Championships, which was the program's sixth overall.

"I'm very excited for Matt on this well-deserved opportunity and extremely proud of him for representing our program at the sports highest level," stated Whittier College Head Coach Brian Kelly.  "His hard work and dedication has put him in this position and I wish him the best of luck on a long and successful professional career."    


11) Vancouver: James Rahe (Robert Morris University)
12) Toronto (from Toronto via New England): Latrell Harris (St. Catherines)
13) Buffalo (from Rochester): Justin Martin (University of Guelph)
14) Saskatchewan* (from New England via Georgia): Matthew Hossack (Rochester Institute of Technology) 
15) Calgary: Vaughn Harris (Six Nations Chiefs)
16) Rochester* (from Buffalo via New England): Dan Lomas (High Point University) 
17) Georgia (from Colorado): Leo Stouros (Colgate University)
18) Buffalo: Kevin Orleman (University of Guelph)
19) New England (from Saskatchewan): Doug Jamieson (Onondoga)
20) Georgia: Warren Hill (Syracuse University)
21) Calgary: Matt Symes (Whittier College)