Dane Goodman named ABCA/Rawlings Div. III All-West Region

Dane Goodman named ABCA/Rawlings Div. III All-West Region

Photo by: Tony Leon/

ABCA/Rawlings All-West Region Teams

WHITTIER, Calif. - The 2019 ABCA/Rawlings NCAA Div. III All-Region teams and Regional Players of the Year have been announced in all eight regions. The teams are voted on by members of the American Baseball Coaches Association and the process is led by the ABCA NCAA Div. III All-America Committee.

Freshman Dane Goodman (Ross, Calif.) represented the Whittier College Baseball team being named to the 3rd Team as an outfielder.

Goodman led the Purple & Gold all season and was recognized for his efforts being named the Southern California Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (SCIAC) Newcomer of the Year, 1st Team All-SCIAC, All-West Region 2nd Team, and the Rookie-of-the-Year.

In conference Goodman registered a .365 batting average with 27 hits, which included three doubles, two triples, four homers, and 23 runs driven in. He walked 10 times and swiped five bases while tallying a .442 on-base percentage and a .622 slugging percentage.  Overall on the season he batted .390 with 46 hits, which included four homeruns, four triples, and five doubles.  He also added 32 runs batted in, 71 total bases, 18 runs scored, a .452 OBP and a .602 SLG%.   


The ABCA All-America team was first recognized in 1949 and now includes nine divisions: NCAA Divisions I, II and III, NAIA, NJCAA Divisions I, II and III, Pacific Association Division, and high school. ABCA/Rawlings Gold Glove teams were first recognized in 2007.

The Chair of the ABCA NCAA Div. III All-America & Coach of the Year Committee is Paul Hesse of the University of Mount Union. Also on the committee are Derek Carlson (Brandeis University), Dean Glus (The College of New Jersey), Ray Hedrick (Randolph-Macon College), Luke Johnson (North Park University), Scott Laverty (Chapman University), Corey Paluga (Elmira College) and Kevin Tomasiewicz (University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh).

The ABCA, founded in 1945, is the primary professional organization for baseball coaches at the amateur level. Its over 11,000 members represent all 50 states and 25 countries. Since its initial meeting of 27 college baseball coaches in June 1945, Association membership has broadened to include eight divisions: NCAA Division I, II and III, NAIA, NJCAA, Pacific Association Division, High School and Youth. The 76th annual ABCA Convention will be held Jan. 2-5, 2020 in Nashville, Tennessee.