Men's Swimming & Diving

Whittier holds off La Verne 130-124

Whittier holds off La Verne 130-124

Photo by: Tony Leon/

LA VERNE, Calif. – The Whittier College Men's Swimming & Diving team came away with their first head to head victory of their 2018-19 season Saturday edging the University of La Verne 130-124.

Sophomore diver, Christopher Puellinski (Cromwell, CT) got the scoring started with a quick 18 points winning the 1-meter and 3-meter boards with scores of 84.30 and 63.90, respectively. 

Another 11 points were picked up by the 200 Medley Relay team of Will Arnsparger (Long Beach, Calif.), Brandon Tran (Chicago, Ill.), Scott Williams (Coronado, Calif.), and Michael Laws (Anacortes, WA) who won the event with a time of 1:41.48.  After that Devin Gaude (Lakewood, Calif.) (10:31.42) and Williams (11:17.11) went 2-3 in the 1000 Free.  Arnsparger took home top honors in the 200 Free (1:50.80) and was joined by freshman Elijah Cooper who took 5th (2:29.38).

Laws took part in his first individual event, the 100 Back and pulled off a 2nd place finish with a time of 56.62.  Then Tran took over winning the 100 Breast (58.63), 200 Breast (2:14.21), and the 200 IM (2:02.09) collecting a combined 27 points for the Purple & Gold.

Williams returned to competition in the 200 Fly winning the event (2:00.35) and two races later, Laws joined him winning the 100 Free (49.86).  In between both events, Ruben Gallegos (Albuquerque, NM) (25.32), Cooper (26.53), and Yehya Nasser (Duarte, Calif.) (28.09) went 3-4-5 in the 50 Free totaling six points.

In the 28th event, Gaude returned to finish 2nd in the 100 Fly (58.07) and to cap off the day, the team of Laws, Gallegos, Gaude, and Nasser would take 2nd in the 400 Free Relay with a time of 3:39.84. 

Other scorers on the day included Nasser in the 100 Breast (3rd) with a time of 1:23.87 and Cooper who finished 5th in the 200 Free (2:29.38).                     

Whittier has the month of December off from competition and will resume on January 12 when they host Claremont-M-S beginning at 11:00am.